Grandparents

I visited some of my extended family in Gallipolis for the first time in about 4 years over the weekend. We borrowed a portable DVD player from my brother in law and rented a mini van to drive down (about a 4 hour drive from my house). I drove the van down and my mom, wife and kids were all on board. I got to spend some time with my grandparents which was very nice. My grandfather has had a 3 strokes so his walking is labored and he tends to drag is right leg a bit. His speech is very very slow. At first it was hard to talk to him because of the long pauses in his speech. After a while I got used to it and we had a nice talk about his business and the farm and cattle. I can tell he is all together inside but his body seems to be wearing out. My mom took my grandparents to various doctors appointments (that she scheduled) and got my grandma new glasses and a hearing aid. Over all it was a very good trip and I’m glad I got to see my grandparents again.

Leave a Reply

