Paris Trip

I was sent to Paris to a customer site on short notice so I had little time to prepare. I went and spent 7 days there at a customer site and helped them get their system running as much as I could in 7 days. It went pretty well and the people were very nice. The food was great. The hotel was pretty good. I worked almost the entire time I was there except for 1 evening in Paris and nightly naps (too short to call it sleeping). Paris is 6 hours ahead of Cleveland time so I would work my long work day there and get to the hotel around 7:30pm. Then I would work until midnight or 1:00AM every night with my team in the USA (7PM EST). It was a gruelling week but I survived.

I did get one evening to go to Paris with a colleague who lives in Paris. He gave me a 6 hour guided tour of all the main attractions:

  • Sacre Coeur Basilica (which had a great view overlooking the city at night)
  • The Louvre
  • The Champs-Elysées
  • Arc de Triomphe
  • The first Statue Of Liberty
  • The bridge where Princess Diana died (which has a torch from the statue of liberty as a monument on the bridge top)
  • Eiffel Tower
  • Obélisque de Luxor
  • Notre Dame Cathedral

My guide (Marc) and I had dinner near Notre Dame Cathedral at an authentic restaurant where I ate crapes with sunny side up eggs, mushrooms, cheese, onions, salad and tomatoes. And sweet crapes with vanilla ice cream, chocolate sauce, and a pear. Very different food. We drank cider (like beer made with apples).

I had a good time and worked like crazy. Everything is small compared to America. Cars, showers, toilet stalls, doors, ceilings, homes, roads, food portions, everything.

I’m glad I got to go and very happy that most of the people at the customer site and hotel spoke English. I was on my own everywhere else so it was nice to have English speakers where I slept and worked.

Leave a Reply

