New Business

I’ve been using Squeak and Seaside to build the site for my new business venture. I’ve been at it for a few weeks and things are coming along nicely. I’ve got a shell of a site built with partial functionality – no persistence yet, no cursored collections for search results, not sure what to do on checkout yet, no image manipulation yet, etc. I’m pretty happy with the progress I’ve made so far and can’t wait to show my partners. Tonight we have a conference call.

So far my impressions of Squeak and Seaside are:

  • Squeak has come a long way since when I used it last. It looks the same but the tools are better. It now has version control that is easy to use and works.
  • Squeak now has good add on libraries that make file access consistent with other platforms (Sport)
  • Seaside takes some getting used to but once you get used to it it is very easy to use. It makes you think about web development like fat client development. It handles all the details of web development for you and it does it very well.
2 thoughts on “New Business

  1. Be sure you’re following the RSS feeds at planet.squeak.org and planet.smalltalk.org. If you have time to listen to podcasts, be sure to listen to the Industry Misinterpretations weekly podcast. Also, I cover the basics of Seaside in an interview from the WebDevRadio podcast at http://www.webdevradio.com/index.php?id=77 – which might be a good introduction for your partners if they don’t know about why Seaside works and scales well.

Leave a Reply

