Lung Cancer

A friend of mine was recently diagnosed with lung cancer. I’m so terribly sad about it. I think they caught it early so there is still a lot of hope that he can be treated and recover. He is a really good person and one of the most talented computer programmers I’ve ever worked with. I feel so bad for him and his family. The road ahead I think will be a hard fight for him and I wish I could do something to help. Some things in life just don’t seem fair – this is one of them.

I need to remember this sad feeling the next time I want to sneak a smoke. I smoked for about 15 years and then quit. I was smoke free for several years but in the last few I started sneaking them when I was out of town, on vacation, at a party or with friends who smoked. I have never had one in front of the kids but that doesn’t make them good for me. Maybe my friend’s battle can help me stay clean.

Leave a Reply

